Hello , how can we help you?
Do you have doubts or questions? Search in our F.A.Q. where you might already find the answers you're looking for.
Otherwise you can contact us.
One of our operators will answer you as soon as possible. Thank you!
Do KIKO MILANO products contain gluten?
Gluten is a mixture of proteins contained in wheat, barley, rye, farro, Kamut and other small grain cereals; it is subsequently also present in flours made using these. This renders all food products that are derived from the above-mentioned cereals, or those containing Gluten following contamination, toxic for individuals with severe Celiac disease. We are therefore talking about a reaction that is triggered by ingestion, which should not be confused with a contact allergy.
Those who suffer severely from Celiac disease are usually extremely knowledgeable as regards ingredients that may contain Gluten and choose to exclude them entirely from their diet. The risk of intolerance is subsequently considered to be limited to the food sector and almost non-existent in cosmetics. In fact, the transdermal absorption (through applying to the skin) of a cosmetic product containing traces of Gluten is not thought to be harmful to those suffering from Celiac disease. Even the risk of ingestion, which only regards lipsticks and toothpastes in the cosmetics industry, is limited: you would in fact have to ‘eat’ the entire lipstick or gloss in question, as simply licking your lips is highly unlikely to be a cause for concern.
We are therefore unable to claim that KIKO lipsticks are Gluten-free. Some lipsticks or glosses may in fact contain traces or sources of Gluten, but the amount present in the product, which would be ingested, is nonetheless minimal. Exactly how minimal this amount would have to be to avoid triggering a reaction in persons with Celiac disease had not yet been determined by an official study or cosmetics industry standard. Even if the presence of Gluten in cosmetic products is not generally considered dangerous, there are of course individuals who prefer to avoid lip products that may contain Gluten. We, therefore, advise individuals suffering from Celiac disease to check the ingredients list of our lip products, so that they are able to exclude - with the help of their treating physician where appropriate - the presence of substances that may contain Gluten. This level of caution is of course only necessary for lip products. As regards the other products in the Make-Up and Skin Care range, KIKO (as applies to the majority of cosmetics companies) is currently unable to entirely exclude the presence of traces of Gluten. We do however consider our products to be safe from this point of view.
Did you find our response helpful?
Sign up now
Register for exclusive advantages
for orders over € 49
PURCHASES ARE SECURE AND GUARANTEED